HTML5 &CSS3

Last few days past with me as a very dedicated student. For over past seven days, after work I was going through the Shaye Howe online free course and following his instructions, I was replicating a website along the way. I enjoyed it. Throughout it, I had upgraded my Sublime Text 3 with Material Theme which is easier to read the code with than my TRONE one I used before (I chose it only because my vanity I guess as a fan of Tron movie theme – and only theme).

I am slowly progressing with  VCS – HTML, CSS and Ruby. One of the websites I learn about there is TheCodePlayer, which only walk you through building some amazing designs and animations with one tool – code. Also famous CSS Zen Garden has a well-deserved place on Viking website along other excellent resources. The great collection of slick artistic website design with readily available code. There is so much stuff that leaves me with only one regret – lack of time. I now realize that this fourth last block will take me about two weeks rather than one week as planned. Instead of figuring out some works on CSS Zen Garden or TheCodePlayer, I need to move on. I have an unhealthy tendency of being preoccupied with details or juggling with too many things at the same time. Over the years I am getting better in balancing between this details and the big picture.

In the moments like that, I remind myself of what Steve Jobs said –

“People think focus means saying yes to the thing you’ve got to focus on. But that’s not what it means at all. It means saying no to the hundred other good ideas that there are. You have to pick carefully. I’m actually as proud of the things we haven’t done as the things I have done. Innovation is saying no to 1,000 things.” (SPIKE your Brand ROI: How to Maximize Reputation and Get Results By Adele R. Cehrs)

Now it’s time to back to work. I build in my life few websites, usually based on bootstrap ideas… A friend of mine said once that it is to support those who doesn’t have good CSS skills… interesting. I don’t know myself; I will try and publish few websites soon that I’m going to create over this long Bank Holiday weekend in Ireland… no bootstrap, this time, pure HTML5 & CSS3 so I may find out if he is right. Perhaps I will start long awaited Ruby part next week. Chris Pine book “Learn to Program” has been gathering dust over these couple weeks…

Leave a Reply

